State cricket award winners announced for 2018-19 | Cricket Australia

Media Releases

State cricket award winners announced for 2018-19

March 27, 2019

This season’s state award winners have been announced, with the domestic season set for a thrilling finale with the JLT Sheffield Shield Final between Victoria and New South Wales at Junction Oval, starting tomorrow.

Victoria fast-bowler Scott Boland has been named the 2018-19 Sheffield Shield Player of the Year, as well as Taverners Australia Indigenous Cricketer of the Year.

Boland claimed 45 wickets from nine matches at an average of 19.8, including best match figures of 7/54 against South Australia in round three.

Boland claimed the award with 15 votes, edging out teammates Marcus Harris and Nic Maddinson, and Tasmania captain Matthew Wade (14 votes).

Capping off an impressive summer for the 29-year-old, Boland has also been recognised as the best performing indigenous cricketer for season 2018-19 having featured throughout Victoria’s successful JLT One-Day Cup campaign and for the Melbourne Stars during BBL|08.

He was also part of the Aboriginal XI that travelled to the United Kingdom in June as part of a commemorative tour to honour and celebrate the 150th anniversary of the first international cricket tour by a team from Australia in 1868.

Tasmania won the Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award, encompassing umpire votes from both the JLT Sheffield Shield and JLT One-Day Cup, while Tasmania also won the Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award based on votes from the Women’s National Cricket League.

Tasmania wicket-keeper/batter Georgia Redmayne was named WNCL Player of the Year, capping off an impressive 12 months for the 25-year-old after she was named the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year last summer.

Redmayne compiled 275 runs, including three half-centuries, at an average of 45.83, while also claiming seven catches and completing four stumpings, the most dismissals of any wicket-keeper this season.

Umpire Paul Wilson has been awarded back-to-back CA Umpire Awards after another standout season and will end his summer on a high on Thursday after being appointed one of the on-field umpires officiating the JLT Sheffield Shield Final.

After a breakout year in 2017-18, Wilson was elevated by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to their Emerging Panel of Umpires in May 2018. A member of the CA Umpire Leadership Group, Wilson was part of the negotiating team who in June successfully agreed the CA-Umpire MOU 2018-2021, as well as standing during men’s One-Day International series’ in India, New Zealand and the West Indies, and the JLT One-Day Cup Final.

Cricket Australia’s Interim Executive General Manager - Team Performance, Belinda Clark, said:

“Scott had a great year and thoroughly deserves the recognition for his performances in the Sheffield Shield and with the men’s Aboriginal XI on their 150-year commemorative tour of the UK.

“Polling votes from the umpires in five matches indicates a very consistent Shield season that resulted in 45 wickets and saw him finish second on the list of wicket-takers.

“Scott played an important role with the Aboriginal XI, his performances crucial in his sides’ wins over the MCC, Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire and Surrey. He is a terrific athlete and wonderful role model to young indigenous kids.

“Georgia also had an excellent year at domestic level for Tasmania, both opening the batting and behind the stumps.

“Tasmania showed significant improvement in the Women’s National Cricket League this season narrowly missing out on a finals berth, and Georgia had a lot to do with that success.

“I’d also like to congratulate Paul on another great season. He regularly promotes umpiring and assists those who look up to him. He voluntarily attends state and community level umpiring events where he is generous with his time and contributions.”


2018-19 State Cricket Award winners

Sheffield Shield Player of the Year: Scott Boland (VIC)

Men’s Spirit of Cricket Award: Tasmania

Women’s Spirit of Cricket Award: Tasmania

CA Umpire Award: Paul Wilson

Taverners Australia Indigenous Cricketer of the Year: Scott Boland (VIC)


Sheffield Shield Player of the Year voting – top 5

1 Scott Boland (VIC) – 15 votes

=2nd Marcus Harris (VIC) – 14 votes

=2nd Nic Maddinson (VIC) – 14 votes

=2nd Matthew Wade (TAS) – 14 votes

=5th Michael Neser (QLD) – 12 votes

=5th Will Pucovski (VIC) – 12 votes


Women’s National Cricket League Player of the Year voting – top 5

1 Georgia Redmayne (TAS) – 15 votes

=2 Meg Lanning (VIC) – 12 votes

=2 Bridget Patterson (SA) – 12 votes

=2 Heather Graham (WA) – 12 votes

5 Corinne Hall (TAS) – 11 votes

The Sheffield Shield Player of the Year and Women’s National Cricket League voting systems sees each standing umpire award a 3-2-1 vote to the players they adjudicated as best on ground in each match