Junior champions decided at 2017 Indoor Nationals | Cricket Australia

Media Releases

Junior champions decided at 2017 Indoor Nationals

July 09, 2017

Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria have claimed junior titles at the 2017 Indoor Cricket National Championships in Mackay.


The host state secured victory in the 17 & Under Boys Division and 17 & Under Girls Division, while Victoria was triumphant in the 15 & Under Boys and 14 & Under Girls Division. New South Wales won the 13 & Under Boys Division.


In the 17 & Under Boys Division, Queensland defeated Victoria by nine runs.


Victoria batted first and posted a total of 71, with Benn Zomer top-scoring with 17. In reply, Queensland hit the front in the penultimate over, before finishing with 80 runs. Noah Gilbert scored 17 runs in the victory.


Queensland also defeated Victoria in the 17 & Under Girls Division, by 38 runs.


Player of the final Emily Vallance (24 runs) and Chelsea Gan (21) combined for a 45-run stand, as Queensland posted 120, before Vallance claimed three wickets as Victoria were restricted to 82.


Victoria had a win over Queensland by 11 runs in the 15 & Under Boys Division.


Queensland were held to a total of just 59 runs, and 21 runs to Jake Fraser-McGurk saw Victoria hit the lead with more than four overs to go, before finishing on 70 runs.


In the 14 & Under Girls Division, Victoria Blue edged out Victoria White for the title, 117 to 83.


Hope Kareta top-scored with 19 runs as Victoria Blue batted first, and while Melka King scored 21 runs for Victoria White, the Blue side held on for a 34-run win.


In another one-state final, NSW Cyclones were too strong for NSW Blues, winning by 49 runs.


The Cyclones batted first and posted 128, with Mitchell Korn top-scoring with 22 runs. In reply, Aiden Kells scored 24 runs for the Blues, however they were kept to a final score of 79.


The Open Divisions are now underway, with a number of BBL and WBBL players competing, including Hobart Hurricanes BBL spinner Clive Rose and Melbourne Renegades BBL all-rounder Trent Lawford (both Victoria), Brisbane Heat WBBL pace bowler Kara Sutherland (Queensland) and Sydney Thunder WBBL wicket-keeper Claire Koski (New South Wales).


The championships will wrap up with the Open division finals on Saturday, live-streamed via indoor.cricket.com.au and the Cricket Australia Indoor Facebook Page.


17 & Under Boys

Final: Queensland 80 def Victoria 71

Player of the Grand Final: Jackson Tinney (Queensland)

Player of the Series: Jackson Korn (NSW Cyclones)

All Star Team: Jackson Korn, Tom Atlee (NSW Cyclones), Harrison Tonks, Noah Gilbert (Queensland), Dion Lucas (South Australia), Benn Zomer, Jai Elcock, Jay Jhamb, Mackenzie Harvey (Victoria), Harvey Golding (Western Australia), Coach: Ron Olsen (Queensland).


17 & Under Girls

Final: Queensland 120 (4) def Victoria 82 (-)

Player of the Grand Final: Emily Vallance (Queensland)

Player of the Series: Emily Vallance (Queensland) 

All Star Team: Kristen McCormack, Sarah Turner, Sophie Heath (NSW Blues), Hannah Faux (NSW Cyclones), Amy Nunn, Emily Vallance, Stacy Rockliff (Queensland), Tarlee Meaney (South Australia), Emma Medland, Zoe Griffiths (Victoria), Coach: Denise Jenkins (Queensland).


15 & Under Boys

Final: Victoria Blue 70 (2) def Queensland 59 (2)

Player of the Grand Final: Tahj Johnston (Victoria)

Player of the Series: Harry Zimmermann (Western Australia)

All Star Team: Adam McGuirk, Brock Larance (NSW Cyclones), Connor Carroll, Daniel Ost, Travis Busch (Queensland), Dev Jhamb, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Shishir Kulkarni (Victoria Blue), Harry Zimmermann, Liam Prus (Western Australia), Coach: John Mark (Victoria Blue).


14 & Under Girls

Final: Victoria Blue 117 (3) def Victoria White 83 (1)

Player of the Grand Final: Brylee Barker (Victoria Blue)

Player of the Series: Holly Simmons (NSW Cyclones)

All Star Team: Holly Simmons, Kaitlyn Britnell (NSW Cyclones), Annaliese Childs, Tallulah Paul (Queensland), Ashling O’Farrell, Hailey Ferris, Hope Kareta, Stella Reid (Victoria Blue), Simran Gandhi, Sonia Khanna (Victoria White), Coach: Janet Finn (Victoria Blue).


13 & Under Boys

Final: NSW Cyclones 128 (3) def NSW Blues 79 (1)

Player of the Grand Final: Tom Coady (NSW Cyclones)

Player of the Series: Tom Coady (NSW Cyclones)

All Star Team: Fraser Eva, Hayden Ferguson (NSW Blues), Austin Haba, Mitchell Korn, Tom Coady (NSW Cyclones), Campbell Corrigan (Queensland), Aingharan Athiththan, Mahdee Islam, Oscar Roberts (Victoria Blue), Aryan Varsani (Western Australia), Coach: Dan French (NSW Cyclones).