2018 Indoor Cricket National Championships to begin in Toowoomba | Cricket Australia

Media Releases

2018 Indoor Cricket National Championships to begin in Toowoomba

June 29, 2018

Australia’s pinnacle national indoor cricket tournament, the 2018 National Indoor Cricket Championships, will begin in Toowoomba on Saturday.

Almost 1000 players and officials will take part in the event from June 30 to July 14, which features 68 teams spread across five Open divisions and five Junior divisions vying for national titles.

The Open competition will be played from June 30 to July 7, followed by the Junior competition from July 7 to July 14.

Cricket Australia Indoor Cricket Manager Briana Binch said:

“We’re looking forward to having Australia’s best players come together for the 2018 National Indoor Cricket Championships in Toowoomba,” Binch said.

“With the addition of several State and W/BBL players competing, we’re expecting to see high quality indoor cricket with national titles and the added honour of Australian selection up for grabs.

“The support of the Toowoomba Region has been fantastic, and we hope the local community will come down to Toowoomba Indoor Sports Centre to support this event and see Australia’s best in action.”

Toowoomba Region Mayor Paul Antonio said:

“The Toowoomba Region has a rich tradition of developing top sportsmen and women, including talented indoor cricketers. We proudly lay claim to three Australian indoor men’s cricket captains and look forward to hosting highly competitive championships,” Mayor Antonio said.

“Toowoomba Regional Council keenly backs and supports sports tourism and warmly welcomes teams from around the country.

“Toowoomba has successfully hosted numerous state, national and international standard sporting events and I’m positive competitors and spectators will enjoy our facilities and the wider attractions on offer across our diverse region.”

The five Junior divisions are 17 & Under Boys, 17 & Under Girls, 15 & Under Boys, 14 & Under Girls and 13 & Under Boys, while the five divisions are Open Men, Open Women, 21 & Under Men, 21 & Under Women and the Lord’s Taverners Shield for cricketers with an intellectual disability.

Players competing at the tournament will also have the chance to be selected to play for Australia.

Four Australian teams will be selected to participate in the 2018 WICF Junior World Series in New Zealand in September-October (13 & Under Boys, 15 & Under Boys, 17 & Under Boys, 17 & Under Girls) and four Australian teams will be selected for the Australasia Cup to be played in Sri Lanka in September (21 & Under Men, 21 & Under Women, Open Men, Open Women).

Finals will be played across the respective Friday and Saturday at the end of each competition, with matches to be live-streamed across these four days via the CA Indoor website and Facebook page.

To follow all the action from the 2018 Indoor Cricket National Championships, visit the CA Indoor Facebook page or head to the CA Indoor website.