Siddle stars as Premier Cricket season closes | Cricket Australia

Feature Stories

Siddle stars as Premier Cricket season closes

April 03, 2018

Peter Siddle has added a Premier Cricket premiership to his BBL success this season with the Adelaide Strikers // Getty

By Dylan Carmody

Australian fast bowler Peter Siddle has starred in his club side’s Final victory, as the Premier Cricket season ends across Australia.

Siddle said the win meant “the world” to him, as Dandenong posted a 10-wicket triumph against Fitzroy-Doncaster at the recently redeveloped Junction Oval over the weekend.

The 33-year-old produced a match-winning performance, tearing through the Fitzroy-Doncaster batting line-up, picking up 6-45 in the first innings and 2-45 in the second.

Former England quick Darren Pattinson nabbed 4-29 himself in the second innings, as the Panthers completed a 10-wicket win against the Lions. It was Dandenong’s first 1st XI flag since 2007.

“(It) means the world to me, to come back to the club I’ve been involved with since I was 15, when I first came down to Melbourne,’’ Siddle told Leader.

“To be able to play with the boys and be a part of the club’s third premiership, that’s amazing.

“I know I’ve only played this one game but I know how hard the boys have worked this season and even in the last few seasons. They’re a tremendous side, it’s a tremendous club, and it’s great to be here.’’

In New South Wales, Ed Cowan’s Sydney University went down to Sean Abbott’s Parramatta, as Nick Bertus scored 85 in the first innings to set up a strong first innings of 334.

It proved too many for Sydney University to chase down, as they were bowled out for 216 with Scott Copperfield picking up 6-69 and Abbott claiming three wickets to go with his 62 runs.

In the Victorian women’s 50-over Final, Box Hill got up in a thriller against Essendon Maribyrnong Park, chasing down 163 in the final over with only one wicket left.

Australia Under 19 squad member Georgia Wareham hit 28 for EMP, but the total of 163 wasn’t enough with Hayleigh Brennan grabbing 6-24 and Marie Kelly’s 61 setting up the Box Hill win.

An unbeaten 141 from Tasmania and Hobart Hurricanes star Georgia Redmayne saw Universities post a 137-run win against St George-Sutherland in the NSW Women’s final.

Heading further north, Northern Suburbs defeated Sandgate-Redcliffe in the final of Queensland’s Premier men’s competition.

Tom Healy was the man of the moment, blasting 124 at the top of the order in the first innings, followed by 58 in the second innings.

It was double the pain for Sandgate, as their women’s team went down to the Western Suburbs, with Australian fast bowler Holly Ferling blasting 97 off 104 balls to see her side over the line.

In Western Australia, Claremont-Nedlands overcame University, despite Australian all-rounder Ashton Agar’s valiant knock of 64.

Claremont-Nedlands chased down University’s 210 only four wickets down, with fast bowler Joel Paris - who has played two ODIs for Australia - grabbing 3-51 for Claremont.

A week earlier, Melville won the Women’s 50-over Final, putting away Midland-Guildford by 114 runs.

Australian batsman Travis Head’s Tea Tree Gully made light work of Sturt in South Australia’s men’s decider, rolling their opponents for 103 before hitting 316 in reply.

In the women’s final, West Torrens got up over the Northern Districts, with Brooke Harris the star as she blasted 73 with the bat and picked up 4-33 with the ball.

Clarence defeated North Hobart in a Tasmanian Men’s thriller, as they fell 20 runs short of North Hobart’s 195 in the first innings, but rolled the Demons for 141, before chasing down the 162 runs needed, with just two wickets in hand.

Cameron Stevenson took eight wickets for the match.

Earlier this month, Kingborough defeated South Hobart Sandy Bay by 26 runs, Emily Divin’s 58 seeing her side over the line.

In the ACT, Weston Creek Molonglo won the men’s title on the back of an unbeaten 167 from Mark Bennett against Eastlake, while Zoe Cooke’s 98 and two wickets led Western District-UC to victory against Tuggeranong in the women’s final.