Queensland tops Futures League table | Cricket Australia

Feature Stories

Queensland tops Futures League table

March 10, 2017

Queensland celebrates its Futures League win against New South Wales with the Syd Gregory Cup, a perpetual trophy contested between the sides // Queensland Cricket

By cricketaustralia.com.au

Queensland has finished the 2016-17 Toyota Futures League on top of the table, with a big final-round win helping them stay clear of Tasmania.

The top team won by 10 wickets against the ACT in their final round match, on the back of a first-innings century from Brisbane Heat star Chris Lynn and eight wickets to emerging Indigenous fast bowler Brendan Doggett, including first-innings figures of 5-12 to dismiss the ACT for just 67.

Queensland finished the season with five wins and one loss from their six matches.


Tasmania finished in second spot on the table, despite going through the season unbeaten, with five wins and a draw.


Captain Jordan Silk plundered 161 in Tasmania’s first innings to help set up a 113-run win against Victoria in their final match.


Victorian captain Rob Quiney was equal to the task, with innings of 64 and 122 across his side’s two innings, but a final innings run chase proved too much for his side to handle.


South Australia snuck home for a one-run final-round victory against New South Wales, despite a match haul of nine-wickets to spinner Arjun Nair.


The 2016-17 Toyota Futures League saw a number of brilliant individual performers, and continued to be a pathway to Sheffield Shield selection.


Six of the competition’s top-10 run-scorers also played Sheffield Shield cricket this summer, including New South Wales’ batsman Nick Larkin, who smashed 521 runs - including a high score of 212 - in just three matches.


South Australia’s Kelvin Smith also scored a double-hundred, while 32 batsmen scored a century throughout the competition, including emerging talent such as Ryan Gibson, Seb Gotch, Josh Inglis and Ben McDermott, plus current and former Australian representatives including Chris Lynn, Ed Cowan, Brad Haddin and Tim Paine.


It was a similar story in the bowling ranks, 11 bowlers claiming five-wicket hauls, and 21 bowlers finishing the season with 10 or more wickets in total.


South Australian duo Elliot Opie and Nick Winter finished with the best innings and match figures respectively - Opie snaring 7-107 in Western Australia’s first innings in Round 5, and Winter claiming 10-50 against Victoria in Round 6.


Winter led all bowlers with a tournament total of 25 scalps, with Opie, ACT’s Thomas Rogers, New South Wales’ Gurinder Sandhu and Tasmania’s Gabe Bell rounding out the top five.


Tasmania’s Jake Doran was the leading wicket-keeper, with 15 catches and three stumpings as gloveman - plus three catches without the gloves - closely followed by Queensland’s Jimmy Peirson and South Australia’s Harry Nielsen.


For full scores, results, ladders and statistics from the 2016-17 Toyota Futures League, visit www.nationalchamps.com.au