New Premier Cricket T20 event introduced | Cricket Australia

Feature Stories

New Premier Cricket T20 event introduced

July 02, 2018

A new two-day Twenty20 event will showcase the best of Premier Cricket in Australia // SACA


PREMIER cricket in Australia will feature an exciting new initiative this summer, with the creation of a new national Premier Cricket Twenty20 event.

It will feature 10 teams from across the country, representing all states and territories.

Adelaide will host the inaugural national premier T20 championships, which will be played on March 5-6, 2019, at the Karen Rolton Oval precinct.

Premier Cricket is a pivotal part of the Pathway for cricketers across Australia.

Using the T20 format to showcase and celebrate Premier Cricket, the event will give players an additional opportunity to showcase and enhance their skills and strategy.

A Premier Men’s competition will take place in year one, with plans for a Premier Women’s competition to follow in year two.

New South Wales and Victoria will be represented by two teams, while Premier competition winners from South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory will also feature.

Northern Territory does not currently have a Premier Cricket competition but will be represented, by the winner of the NT Strike League which began over the weekend.

The tournament highlights a national collaboration around Premier Cricket between Cricket Australia and State and Territory Associations – and an increased focus on T20 cricket at Premier level - with State Premier T20 competitions set to run simultaneously over the December-January period.

A T20 competition has also been announced as part of a revamped Toyota Futures League structure for 2018-19, from January 28-31.