| Cricket Australia

Women’s National Cricket League fixture announced

December 14, 2020

By Cricket Australia

The 2020-21 Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) fixture has been announced with a full eight-round competition to begin on Friday, 15 January.

The 25th edition of the competition will be played in four blocks starting with matches from 15-19 January at Blundstone Arena (Hobart), Citipower Centre (Melbourne), EPC Solar Park (Canberra), Karen Rolton Oval (Adelaide) and the WACA Ground (Perth).

The Final will be held on Saturday, 27 March at the home venue of the highest ranked team and will be live streamed on cricket.com.au.

Click here for the full fixture

Commenting on the announcement, Drew Ginn, Cricket Australia’s Executive General Manager, High Performance, said:

“After one of the most successful WBBL tournaments to date, there’s great anticipation ahead of the WNCL getting underway in January with Australia’s best local talent again on show.

“The WNCL provides our domestic players with the opportunity to continue their development and push for national selection which is especially crucial with a home Ashes and One-Day World Cup scheduled for next summer.

“It’s been really pleasing to have been able to deliver as much domestic cricket as we have so far this season and we’re equally committed to doing everything we can to complete all eight rounds of the WNCL.”

Reigning champions, Western Australia will be out to retain the Ruth Preddy Cup after claiming their first title last season with a 42-run win against New South Wales.

Boasting 20 out of a possible 24 titles, New South Wales will again be one of the teams to beat. South Australia and Victoria will also be looking to add to their tally while the ACT, Tasmania and Queensland will be eager to secure their first WNCL crown.

The WNCL was first played in 1996-97. Prior to this, the Australian National Women’s Championship, which began in 1930-31, was played as an annual two-week tournament.