| Cricket Australia

KFC BBL|10 Finals series schedule adjusted

January 31, 2021

By Cricket Australia

The KFC Big Bash League has confirmed Thursday’s ‘The Challenger’ Finals series match has been moved to Manuka Oval following today’s announcement of a five-day lockdown in Perth by the Western Australian Government.

The match was originally scheduled to be played at Optus Stadium and hosted by the Perth Scorchers following their defeat in The Qualifier on Saturday night.

The Scorchers will instead remain in Canberra and face the winner of tonight’s ‘The Knockout’ match between Sydney Thunder and Brisbane Heat in Thursday’s match.

The remaining KFC BBL|10 Finals series matches are:

  • Sunday, January 31: ‘The Knockout’, Sydney Thunder v Brisbane Heat, Manuka Oval, 7:15pm AEDT
  • Thursday, February 4: ‘The Challenger’, Perth Scorchers v winner of The Knockout, Manuka Oval, 7:40pm AEDT
  • Saturday, February 6: ‘The Final’, Sydney Sixers v winner of The Challenger, Sydney Cricket Ground, 7:40pm AEDT

Tickets for both The Challenger and The Final will be on sale from 3:00pm AEDT on Monday, February 1, with a members' pre-sale from 10:00am AEDT.

All Finals matches will be broadcast live on Seven, Foxtel, Kayo and SEN Radio.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s Head of Big Bash Leagues, said:

“The League would like to extend its best wishes to all KFC BBL fans in Perth, particularly those Scorchers fans who were hoping to see their team in action this Thursday, following the announcement of a hard lockdown by the WA Government.

“We support all governments across Australia in their efforts to manage the ongoing public health situation and wish Western Australia all the best in managing these latest developments.

“Likewise, we’d also like to thank the Perth Scorchers for their understanding regarding the decision to move The Challenger to Manuka Oval. This has been an unprecedented KFC BBL season and the ongoing flexibility and cooperation has been vital in getting us to this point of the Finals series.

“Finally, we’d like to recognise the incredible work of the ACT Government, Venues Canberra, Cricket ACT and Cricket NSW who have again come to the fore to ensure we deliver a safe, successful and complete KFC BBL|10 season. The League, our clubs and all BBL fans are grateful for the enormous contribution everyone in Canberra has made to this season and we look forward to seeing their cricket-loving community out in force again this Thursday night.”