| Cricket Australia

Australian men's Test squad for the remaining two Tests of the Vodafone Test Series against India

December 30, 2020

By Cricket Australia

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has chosen the following 18-player Australian men’s squad for the remaining two matches of the Vodafone Test Series against India.

Tim Paine (TAS) (c)
Pat Cummins (NSW) (vc)
Sean Abbott (NSW)
Cameron Green (WA)
Josh Hazlewood (NSW)
Marcus Harris (VIC)
Travis Head (SA)
Moises Henriques (NSW)
Marnus Labuschagne (QLD)
Nathan Lyon (NSW)
Michael Neser (QLD)
James Pattinson (VIC)
Will Pucovski (VIC)
Steve Smith (NSW)
Mitchell Starc (NSW)
Mitchell Swepson (QLD)
Matthew Wade (TAS)
David Warner (NSW)

National selector Trevor Hohns said: “David Warner, Will Pucovski and Sean Abbott will rejoin the squad in Melbourne tomorrow evening in preparation for the Sydney Test.

“David has made strong progress in his recovery from injury and will be given every chance to play in Sydney with another seven days until the match. Sean has fully recovered from a calf strain and is also available for selection.

“Will is in the final stages of the graduated return to play protocols and has been symptom free for some time. He will be fit to play in Sydney subject to completing the return to play protocols and an independent assessment.

“Joe Burns has been released from the squad and will return to the Brisbane Heat. Unfortunately, Joe’s returns haven’t been what he or the selectors would like or what we consider he is capable of.”

Australia will train in Melbourne on January 2 and 3 before moving to Sydney on January 4.

Vodafone Test Series against India:

December 17-21 – First Vodafone Test, Adelaide Oval (d/n)
December 26-30 – Second Vodafone Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground
January 7-11 – Third Vodafone Test, Sydney Cricket Ground
January 15-19 – Fourth Vodafone Test, Brisbane Cricket Ground