| Cricket Australia

South Africa withdraws from ODI series

July 13, 2022

By CA Media

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced a revised 2022-23 international schedule following Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) decision to withdraw from the Dettol ODI Series in January.

Since receiving CSA’s request to reschedule this series, CA and CSA had sought to find alternate timeslots for the Men’s ODIs fixtured in Hobart (Jan 12), Sydney (Jan 14) and Perth (Jan 17).

Unfortunately, due to the congested international schedule including the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, there are no alternative dates available.

CA has worked with State and Territory Associations, venue operators, government, broadcast and commercial partners to ensure the schedule continues to provide the best possible experience for cricket fans across Australia.

This includes ensuring Hobart will host an Australian team this summer.

As a result, three matches across the Dettol Men’s T20 International Series against the West Indies and England and the CommBank Women’s T20 International Series against Pakistan have been relocated.

The relocated matches are:

October 7: Dettol Men’s T20I v West Indies, The Gabba, Brisbane | previously Metricon Stadium
October 9: Dettol Men’s T20I v England, Perth Stadium | previously The Gabba
January 26: CommBank Women’s T20I v Pakistan, Blundstone Arena | previously Manuka Oval, January 27

The ODI matches against South Africa are part of the ICC Super League which determines direct qualification for the ICC Men’s One-Day World Cup 2023.

Given these games will not be played before the qualification cut-off date in May, CSA has agreed that Australia will be awarded the competition points pending ICC approval.

Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley said:

“It is disappointing that Cricket South Africa will be unable to contest the ODI series in January.

“That said, we are delighted to be hosting South Africa for the three Test series which includes the Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests and with the comprehensive schedule of international cricket that will take place across Australia throughout the summer.

“This will include the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and a record six touring teams for the Men’s and Women’s international series as well as the twelfth season of the BBL and the eighth season of the WBBL.

"We can't wait to see fans back at the cricket this summer."

Tickets for the summer of cricket go on sale to the Australian Cricket Family on July 18 and to the general public on July 22.