| Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia Match Referees Panel for 2020-21 announced

September 10, 2020

By Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia has announced a streamlined panel of nine Match Referees for the 2020-21 season.

Former International umpires Steve Davis and Simon Fry are the two new appointments to the Match Referee group.

The single Cricket Australia Match Referees Panel replaces the two panels (National and Supplementary) used in previous seasons.

Davis umpired in 57 Test matches, 137 One Day Internationals and 26 T20 Internationals and is a former member of the ICC Elite Panel.

Fry umpired in 49 One Day Internationals, 19 T20 Internationals and 7 Test matches and also won the Cricket Australia Umpire Award four times.

Cricket Australia would like to thank our departing members Tim Donahoo, Neil Findlay, Daryl Harper, Damian Herft, Peter Marshall, Terry Prue, David Talalla and Ian Thomas.

The Cricket Australia Match Referees Panel will oversee all Cricket Australia professional domestic competitions along with pathway tournaments.

2020-21 Cricket Australia Match Referees panel
• Steve Bernard
• Steve Davis
• Simon Fry
• David Gilbert
• Kent Hannam
• David Johnston
• Bob Parry
• Bob Stratford
• Kepler Wessels
Cricket Australia Head of Cricket Operations, Peter Roach, said he is excited to name a strong panel for the upcoming season.

“We are thrilled to appoint such a high calibre group of individuals to our Match Referee Panel,” Roach said.

“We have a good balance of backgrounds and experiences in the group. The inclusion of two recent former International Umpires in Steve Davis and Simon Fry gives us further valuable expertise to draw on.

“Whilst we are extremely excited about our appointments for the season ahead, we want to acknowledge and thank our departing members for the significant contribution each one of them made while members of our Match Referee Panel.”