| Cricket Australia

KFC Big Bash League Finals fixture confirmed

January 27, 2020

By Cricket Australia

The KFC Big Bash League has confirmed the fixture for the first week of the upcoming Finals series, which includes five teams for the first time in the League’s history.

The Melbourne Stars and Sydney Sixers are guaranteed to feature in two Finals matches in BBL|09. This reward comes by virtue of finishing in the top two positions on the KFC BBL ladder, thus earning the right to a double chance under the new structure.

The Adelaide Strikers, Hobart Hurricanes and Sydney Thunder have also finished in the top five and remain in contention to be crowned BBL|09 Champions.

“The KFC BBL’s new Finals format has created more opportunities than ever before for our fans to support their team at the business end of the season,” Cricket Australia Head of Big Bash Leagues, Alistair Dobson, said.

“We’re pleased to be bringing five matches to four different cities over the next two weeks, with a number of the League’s biggest names set to be on show.

“Our regular season finished with a number of close matches over the Australia Day long weekend and we look forward to that excitement continuing into the Finals.”

Please see below the KFC Big Bash League Finals series fixture and ticket information.

Week one summary

The Finals series begins with The Eliminator on Thursday, January 30, with fourth-placed Hobart Hurricanes hosting fifth-placed Sydney Thunder at Blundstone Arena from 7:40pm AEDT.

Top-placed Melbourne Stars will then welcome second-placed Sydney Sixers to the MCG on Friday, January 31, from 7:15pm AEDT for The Qualifier.

Week one of the KFC BBL|09 Finals series will be rounded out when the winner of The Eliminator heads to the Adelaide Oval to take on third-placed Adelaide Strikers in The Knockout on Saturday, February 1, from 7:40pm AEDT (7:10pm ACDT local).

Week two summary

The loser of The Qualifier will be given a second chance to reach the decider, when they take on the winner of The Knockout on Thursday, February 6 at 7:40pm AEDT. This match will be known as The Challenger.

The Final, set down for Saturday, February 8, will be hosted by the winner of The Qualifier at either the MCG or SCG. This match will begin at 7:15pm AEDT.

The Final will also be the third match of The Big Appeal, cricket's day of giving to communities affected by the bushfire emergency. The Bushfire Cricket Bash will also take place at this venue.

KFC Big Bash League Finals series fixtures & ticket information

Tickets to all KFC Big Bash League Finals series matches can be purchased at

Week One

The Eliminator - Thursday, January 30, 7:40pm AEDT: Hobart Hurricanes v Sydney Thunder at Blundstone Arena.

  • Tickets on sale Tuesday, January 28. Members from 9:00am AEDT, general public from 12:00pm AEDT.

The Qualifier - Friday, January 31, 7:15pm AEDT: Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers at MCG.

  • Tickets on sale Tuesday, January 28. Members from 9:00am AEDT, general public from 12:00pm. AEDT

The Knockout - Saturday, February 1, 7:10pm ACDT (7:40pm AEDT): Adelaide Strikers v winner of The Eliminator at Adelaide Oval.

  • Tickets on sale Tuesday, January 28. Members from 8:30am ACDT, general public from 3:00pm ACDT
Week Two

The Challenger – Thursday, February 6: Loser of The Qualifier v winner of The Knockout, 7:40pm AEDT at MCG or SCG.

The Final – Saturday, February 8: Winner of The Qualifier v winner of The Challenger, 7:15pm AEDT at MCG or SCG.