| Cricket Australia

Squads named for Commonwealth Bank International Cricket Inclusion Series

May 17, 2022

By Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia has announced three national squads for the Commonwealth Bank International Cricket Inclusion Series.

The series will be held at the National Cricket Campus and will see all Australian national disability squads - deaf, blind, and intellectual disability (ID) - play five T20Is and three ODI matches from 8-17 June.

Australia’s National Deaf and National ID Squads will host England. Due to England’s blind squad withdrawing from the series, Australia’s National Blind Squad will now face trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand in a bilateral series for the first time since 2010.

The National Blind Squad last competed internationally at the 2018 Blind Cricket World Cup in Dubai, while the National Deaf Squad will be in action for the first time since the 2018 Deaf Cricket World Cup in India. The National Intellectual Disability Squad last played an international series against England as part of the 2019 INAS Global Games in Brisbane.

Haydn Brumm and Matt McCarthy, both from Queensland, have been named captain of the National ID and National Blind Squad respectively, while Andrew Park (NSW) will lead the National Deaf Squad.

National Blind Squad:  
Matt McCarthy © (QLD/Nundah)    
Michael Berg (WA/High Wycombe)
Ned Brewer-Maiga (VIC/Greensborough)
Brad Brider (WA/Joondalup)
Matt Cameron (WA/Joondalup)  
Shaun Fitzpatrick (NSW/Prairiewood)  
Ryan Honschooten (WA/Gosnells)  
Sean Kendrick (QLD/Westlake)  
Nathan Letts (VIC/Brunswick East)  
Steffan Nero (NSW/Parramatta)
Steve Obeid (VIC/St Albans)
Vaughan Roles (NSW/North Parramatta)  
Oscar Stubbs (NSW/Glenwood)  
Lachlan Wallace (SA/Adelaide)  
Michael Zannis (SA/Rostrevor)

Coach: Mechelle Hare (NSW/Manly CC) 
Assistant Coach: Daniel Drew (NSW/Northern Districts CC)
Team Manager: David Penn (SA/Adelaide University)

National Deaf Squad:
Andrew Park © (NSW/Cammeray CC)
Callum Asbury (VIC/Inverloch CC) 
Lewis Beard (NSW/Sydney University CC)
Harry Bell (NSW/Gordon CC)
Nick Budden (QLD/Southern Districts CC)
Tyson Hay (VIC/Terang CC) 
David Melling (WA/Melville CC) 
Justin Morgan (VIC/Heyfield CC) 
Shrey Patel (SA/Gaza CC)
Austin Phillip (NSW/Parramatta District CC)
Matthew Shenton (WA/Hilton Bicton CC)
Luke Trudgett (QLD/Kenmore)
Sean Walsh (QLD/Northern Suburbs District CC)
Cameron Wilson (NT/Braitling CC)
Coach: Jason Mathers (VIC/Mt Martha CC)
Assistant Coach: Job van Bunge (WA/WACA)
Team Manager: Chris Ashenden (NSW/Kellyville Ridge CC)

National Intellectual Disability (ID) Squad:
Haydn Brumm © (QLD/Gold Crest CC)
Craig Blaschke* (TAS/Rokeby CC)
Joel Corbett* (TAS/Old Beach CC)
Boyd Duffield (WA/North Perth CC)
Jesse Goodman (SA/Enfield United CC)
Gavan Hicks (VIC/Thomson CC)
Zeb Hovington* (TAS/Ulverstone) 
Mitchell Lawrence* (VIC/Axe Creek CC)
Lachlan MacRae (VIC/Endeavour Hills CC)
Sean McGowan (WA/Leeming Spartan CC)
Jamie Phillips (QLD/Runaway Bay CC) 
Connor Sheppard (TAS/South Launceston CC) 
Patrick Wheeler* (VIC/Kingston Heath CC) 
Nat Young* (NSW/South Tamworth CC)

Coach: John Lonergan (SA/Goodwood CC)
Assistant Coach: Nathan Dodd (QLD/Western Suburbs CC)
Assistant Coach: Liam Devlin (TAS/South Launceston CC)
Team Manager: Joanna Connolly (SA)
* denotes pending eligibility status of cricketer

Thanks to the Commonwealth Bank, cricket is the first non-Paralympic Australian sport to fully fund national disability squads.

Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia CEO said:  

“Cricket Australia is extremely excited to host another hugely important international series in June.

“Thanks to incredible support from Commonwealth Bank, each squad has had access to fully funded training camps at the National Cricket Centre, high-performance coaching sessions, online wellbeing and education sessions as well as CA’s Athlete Management System (AMS).

“Our national disability squads have unfortunately been unable to participate in international competition since the onset of the pandemic, and this series promises to be a wonderful celebration of cricket and inclusion that renews rivalries and friendships alike.

“I wish the three squads all the best for this series, and I have no doubt they will inspire more people to get involved in the game.”