| Cricket Australia

CA contracted player list announced for 2020-21

April 30, 2020

By Cricket Australia

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced the list of 20 men and 15 women players to be awarded national contracts for 2020-21.

The contracts are primarily based on player performances during the past 12 months and those who the respective National Selection Panels believe may represent Australian teams in the coming year.
Cricket Australia contracted men’s players
Ashton Agar (Western Australia)
Joe Burns (Queensland)
Alex Carey (South Australia)
Pat Cummins (New South Wales)
Aaron Finch (Victoria)
Josh Hazlewood (New South Wales)
Travis Head (South Australia)
Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Mitchell Marsh (Western Australia)
Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
Tim Paine (Tasmania)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Steve Smith (New South Wales)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
David Warner (New South Wales)
Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Cricket Australia contracted women’s players

Nicola Carey (Tasmania)
Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)
Rachael Haynes (New South Wales)
Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)
Jess Jonassen (Queensland)
Delissa Kimmince (Queensland)
Meg Lanning (Victoria)
Tahlia McGrath (South Australia)
Sophie Molineux (Victoria)
Beth Mooney (Queensland)
Ellyse Perry (Victoria)
Megan Schutt (South Australia)
Annabel Sutherland (Victoria)
Tayla Vlaeminck (Victoria)
Georgia Wareham (Victoria)
Men’s National Selector Trevor Hohns said: “There is a lot of cricket on the horizon across all three forms of the game including an ICC T20 World Cup, home Test summer against India, One-Day matches and a tour of South Africa. For that reason, it’s important to find a strong balance and a list which covers all forms of the game.

“With many of the squad crossing into all three formats it gives us the benefit of being able to add in specialists depending on the opposition and the conditions. The depth of this squad and the success of the past 12 months gives us that solid base.”

Ashton Agar, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Kane Richardson and Matthew Wade received call-ups to the nationally contracted list. All were upgraded to the contracted list in the past 12 months.

“We feel all deserve their inclusion recognising the performances of those players in the past 12 months and, as importantly, what they can offer in the next 12 months,” Hohns said.

“Marnus’ rise has been meteoric and well documented, Joe has been a good Test match player, Ashton Agar’s form in T20 internationals has been exceptional, while Kane Richardson has been outstanding in the twenty over and one-day games.

“Matthew Wade’s summer showed he is not only a tough but a good Test player for us. His form extended into white ball cricket late in the summer, earning him well deserved call ups to the one-day and T20 Australian squads.

“After missing the list last year Mitch Marsh’s recent form showed he has a lot of international cricket ahead of him as a batting all-rounder. Mitch proved this with his man of the match performance against New Zealand at the SCG in the last game Australia played and a five-wicket haul in the last Test match he played on the Ashes tour.”

Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis and Ashton Turner missed out on the primary contract list. Peter Siddle has retired from international cricket.

“As Mitch Marsh and Matthew Wade have proven there are always plenty of opportunities for those who have missed out to be reselected by performing consistently at domestic level; and importantly to make the most of any opportunity that comes there way at international level,” Hohns said.

“As is always the case there are unlucky omissions but, however, because you are not on the list does not mean you cannot be selected to represent Australia.”

Players not awarded contracts as part of the initial squad of 20 can earn upgrades throughout the year by accruing 12 upgrade points. Players receive five points for a Test match, two for a One-Day International and one for a T20 International.

Women’s National Selector Shawn Flegler said: “Tayla Vlaeminck and Annabel Sutherland were upgraded to CA contracts last season and were members of Australia’s triumphant ICC T20 World Cup squad. They have emerged as key figures in the Australian Women’s Team and deserve their place on the contract list.

“Tahlia McGrath had a brilliant season with the Adelaide Strikers and South Australia, winning the Andrea McCauley medal. She’s been a consistent performer over the last few seasons with bat and ball, including the five matches she played for Australia during the 2017 Ashes series.
“With Tayla and Ellyse Perry coming back from long-term injuries, Tahlia will add extra depth to our all-rounders, especially with her bowling. We saw that depth come into play during the recent World Cup and we know that will be important with another World Cup scheduled this summer.

“Given the success of the Australian Women’s team across all formats over the past 12 months, beginning with an Ashes victory in July and culminating in a historic ICC T20 World Cup victory last month, the contract list has remained relatively consistent year on year.

“The door is not closed on any of the players who did not receive a new CA contract. There will be plenty of opportunities for Nicole Bolton and Elyse Villani who both missed out to make their case once cricket resumes. Both are world-class when at their best, so hopefully they can dominate domestic cricket and put their hands up for selection.

“Erin Burns was unlucky to miss out having been upgraded to a full contract this season but is highly rated by the selectors. She’s an adaptable player and is still in the mix for future selection.

“Molly Strano also misses out despite being drafted into Australia’s World Cup squad and playing an important role, but she too is highly rated and will be looked at for future opportunities.”

Contracts have been awarded based on performances over the last 12 months with the Australian Women’s Team preparing for another huge summer culminating with the ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand in February next year.

The Australian Women’s Team is the number one ranked T20I and ODI team in the world. Additionally, three players are ranked number one in the world for their craft: Jess Jonassen the top ranked ODI bowler, Ellyse Perry the leading ODI all-rounder and Beth Mooney the best T20 batter.

Players not awarded contracts as part of the initial squad of 15 can earn upgrades throughout the year by accruing 12 upgrade points. Players receive four points for a Test match, two for a One-Day International and two for a T20 International.