| Cricket Australia

Inaugural KFC BBL|11 First Nations Round to be held from January 8 to 14

January 08, 2022


The KFC BBL will hold its inaugural First Nations Round from January 8-14, as the Big Bash reaffirms its commitment to deepening education and meaningful connection with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples.

As was done in the Weber WBBL, the round will acknowledge, pay respect and celebrate the hundreds of First Nations and Traditional Custodians of the land and waters encompassing where we are privileged to live, work and play the great game of cricket on.

The round will commence with a blockbuster double header, with the Melbourne Renegades taking on the Sydney Thunder on the lands of the Wurundjeri people at Marvel Stadium before the Brisbane Heat play the Hobart Hurricanes on the lands of the Yugara people at the Gabba.

The round will conclude with the annual Jason Gillespie Trophy match between the Adelaide Strikers and Perth Scorchers on the lands of the Kaurna people at Adelaide Oval.

KFC BBL|11 First Nations Round Fixture
January 8, 6:05pm AEDT: Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Thunder, Marvel Stadium, Wurundjeri
January 8, 7:30pm AEST: Brisbane Heat v Hobart Hurricanes, Gabba, Yugara
January 9, 7:15pm AEDT: Sydney Sixers v Perth Scorchers, C.ex Coffs International Stadium, Gumbainggir
January 10, 2:10pm AEDT: Hobart Hurricanes v Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Wurundjeri
January 10, 7:15pm AEDT: Melbourne Stars v Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Wurundjeri
January 11, 2:10pm AEDT: Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Stars, GMHBA Stadium, Wadawurrung
January 11: 7:15pm AEDT: Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Sixers, GMHBA Stadium, Wadawurrung
January 12, 6:15pm AEST: Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers, Gabba, Yugara
January 13, 3:45pm AEDT: Sydney Thunder v Hobart Hurricanes, Marvel Stadium, Wurundjeri
January 13, 7:35pm AEDT: Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars, Marvel Stadium, Wurundjeri
January 14, 10:10am ACDT: Adelaide Strikers v Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Oval, Kaurna

All teams will wear First Nations Round themed uniforms designed by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists, each with their own unique stories connected to the traditional lands of each club.

At matches throughout the First Nations Round, the League and Clubs will also showcase Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and ceremonies. Along with the barefoot circle, Welcome to Country and Smoking Ceremony, an immersive experience for attendees at matches will be created including incorporation of local languages and traditions throughout the match days.

D'Arcy Short, Mitakoodi man and Hobart Hurricanes player, said:

“I’m excited to be able to play in the BBL’s first First Nations Round this year. It’s great that our sport and the League has got to this point, and hopefully we can keep the tradition going in BBL seasons to come.”

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s General Manager of Big Bash Leagues, said:

“The League was proud to launch our inaugural First Nations Rounds throughout WBBL|07 and will continue to celebrate and honour First Nations people and cultures throughout First Nations Round in the BBL.

“We are thankful for our Indigenous players in both the BBL and WBBL and we are proud to see them play an important role as role models for young Indigenous cricketers throughout Australia.

“We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of all the lands on which cricket is played and especially thank those who are hosting us for our First Nations Rounds.”

Tune in to every match of the KFC BBL|11 season on Seven and/or Foxtel, with matches also broadcast on Kayo, ABC Radio, SEN and cricket.com.au. Tickets are available at cricket.com.au/tickets.