| Cricket Australia

Australia falls to West Indies in Under-19 World Cup opener

January 19, 2020

By Cricket Australia

AUSTRALIA U19 179 (Fraser-McGurk 84, Rowe 40) def by WEST INDIES U19 7-180 (Sangha 4-30) at Diamond Oval, Kimberley

AUDIO: Click here to download audio from

- Mackenzie Harvey press conference
- Jake Fraser-McGurk interview
- Tanveer Sangha interview 

Australia has suffered defeat in its opening ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup match against West Indies in Kimberley, going down by three wickets.

Sent in to bat after a short rain delay, a combination of potent West Indies bowling and two deflected run-outs at the non-striker's end saw Australia fall to 4-67 inside 14 overs.

But a 91-run, fifth-wicket stand between Jake Fraser-McGurk - who survived the early flurry of wickets after opening the innings - and Patrick Rowe steadied the ship.

Fraser-McGurk played confidently throughout the early stages as he passed fifty from 55 balls, before eventually falling for 84 from 97 deliveries.

He was ably supported by keeper-batsman Rowe (40 from 57 balls), but their departure triggered a collapse of 6-21 as Australia was bundled out for 179.

The West Indies began their reply confidently, with only a solitary new ball scalp to Matthew Willans stemming the flow in the opening 10 overs.

But the introduction of spin gave Australia hope, with leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha ripping through the top order on his way to 4-30.

At 5-92 at the mid-point of the chase the match was well and truly in the balance. But a composed 78-run stand between Nyeem Young and Matthew Forde took the game away from Australia, with the West Indies eventually scraping home with three wickets in hand

Australia next faces Nigeria on Monday night, before their final Group B fixture against England on Thursday.

2020 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup, South Africa
January 17 – February 9, 2020

Australia fixtures:
- v West Indies, January 18, Diamond Oval, Kimberley
- v Nigeria, January 20, Country Club B Field, Kimberley
- v England, January 23, Diamond Oval, Kimberley 

Plate League quarter-finals from January 27.

Super League quarter-finals from January 28.