Womens Domestic T20 wbbl | Cricket Australia

Womens Domestic T20 wbbl

Australia’s women’s Domestic T20 competition has followed two formats since its first season in 2009/10. The first six seasons was a state-based seven-team round robin tournament culminating in a semi-final and Final. Victoria won three of those titles, New South Wales two and Queensland one. The competition was revamped for the 2015/16 season with the inaugural rebel Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL). Each of the KFC BBL franchises fielded women’s teams to compete in the rebel WBBL. The competition is played as a full home and away series followed by two semi-finals and a Final. In the first three seasons, matches were played alongside KFC BBL fixtures. In 2019/20, the competition moved to its own specific window within the Australian Domestic Cricket schedule.

In the five completed rebel BBL seasons, the Brisbane Heat and Sydney Sixers have each won two titles and the Sydney Thunder have won one.


Competition Records



WBBL WInners