Spirit of Cricket Awards | Cricket Australia

Awards & Events

Spirit of Cricket Awards

The importance of the Spirit of Cricket is recognised in Australia with the Richie Benaud Spirit of Cricket Awards, which are awarded each season to the interstate men’s and women’s teams who are voted as having played in the best spirit and with the greatest respect for the game.

Past winners of the award are as follows:

Men’s Senior Domestic

The winner of the men’s award is the state who has the best combined score from the three formats of interstate cricket.

  • 2010-11 Western Australia
  • 2009-10 South Australia
  • 2008-09 Queensland
  • 2007-08 Western Australia
  • 2006-07 South Australia
  • 2005-06 Queensland
  • 2004-05 Tasmania
  • 2003-04 South Australia

Women’s Senior Domestic

  • 2010-11 NSW Breakers (WNCL & WNCL T20)
  • 2009-10 NSW Breakers (WNCL) & QLD Fire (WNCL T20)
  • 2008-09 VIC Spirit
  • 2007-08 NSW Breakers
  • 2006-07 VIC Spirit & Western Fury (Prize Shared)
  • 2005-06 NSW Breakers, SA Scorpions & Western Fury (Prize Shared)
  • 2004-05 NSW Breakers, QLD Fire and SA Scorpions (Prize Shared)
  • 2003-04 QLD Fire and Southern Scorpions (Prize Shared)